January 3, 2012, No Comments

You may download the lecture in various formats below:

In this lecture, Ustadh Mahmud goes through these sayings from Munabbihat, the counsels of four.
Counsel 1:
The signs of wretchedness are four. These are:
(1) to forget about past sins, whilst the record is with Allah, the Exalted
(2) to reminisce about past virtuous deeds whilst he is not aware whether such were accepted (as good deeds) or not
(3) to look at those who are richer than him (due to not having contentment) and
(4) to esteem himself to be religiously better by looking at someone who is inferior to him.
Allah says about these kinds of people, “I wanted him but he did not want Me, and thus I have left him.”

(On the other hand) the signs of happiness are also four. These are:
(1) to constantly remember about past sins,
(2) to forget one’s past virtuous deeds,
(3) to look at those who are more pious than he is and
(4) to compare himself with those who are less fortunate than he is. – Muhammad (s.a.w)

Counsel 2:
A wise man said, “There are four signs of a man’s iman (faith):
(1) taqwa (fear of God),
(2) haya’ (shyness, modesty)
(3) shukr (thankfulness), and
(4) sabr (patience and steadfastness).”

Counsel 3:
Mothers are four.
(1) Eating less is the mother of all cures (ummul ‘adwiyah)
(2) Speaking less is the mother of good manners (ummul adab)
(3) Avoiding sinful acts is the mother of worship (ummul ‘ibadah)
(4) Patience (sabr) is the  mother of high aspirations (ummul amani). –Muhammad (s.a.w)

Counsel 4:
There are four gems within the body of son of Adam that are removed by four things.
The gems - ‘aql, din, haya’ and ‘amal al salih- are removed by four other items. For example:
(1) ghadab (anger) removes ‘aql (intellect)
(2) hasad  (envy) removes din (religion)
(3) tama’ (greed or high aspirations) removes haya’ (modesty and shyness)
(4) ghibah  (backbiting and slandering) removes ‘amal al- salih (virtuous deeds). – Muhammad (s.a.w)

Leave a Reply